unable to fresh install gtx 970 graphics

I’ve almost given up trying to install rolling. .this is my last resort! ! I know the issue is my graphics card which is gtx 970 … I tried installing using no mode set… no luck! I get a black screen when I try to run live or free…tried the grub with no mode set … I need help … I’m new in linux… please help!

What tool did you use to create your live media from the ISO?

I had the same problem this weekend. I don’t quite remember exactly, what i did to fix it (so many tries), but in the end, i have started in text mode (text nomodeset) and then i was able to install with the text mode installer.

After restart in text mode again i was able see the console, but it flickered and it was hard to enter my username on the login prompt. But to enter the password was impossible (i had to enter the keys in sync with the “flickering”)

But luckily, root has no password, so i was able to login as root. This way i could kill sddm (which caused the flickering). Then i could install the nvidia drivers, and from that moment on, everything went relatively smooth

When the Live media boots up, try selecting the non-free option. This will cause the live session to load using the proprietary Nvidia drivers by default instead of the opensource nouveau drivers.

I have tried that too, but it did not work. AFAIR i got the spinning netrunner logo and then nothing more happened.

Did you correctly tried nomodeset because only this is detected as turning off the free drivers.
I think the proprietary drivers shipped on the ISO might be too old for your card that’s the reason they won’t work either.
So the only option here would be nomodeset to get going with a general Vesa like driver.
After install and initial update you can of course get the newest proprietary driver that should work fine with your card.