Issue loading/running Chrome

I’m new to both Linux and Netrunner, so any suggestions need to be explicit without lots of abbreviations, skipped steps, assumptions, etc.

I have successfully installed and run Chromium, but get frequent Aw Snap screens. So I tried to load Chrome from Google’s website. It appeared to install fine. But it would not run. Clicking the icon caused the Chrome icon/title to flash for a few seconds on the status bar (or whatever it’s called at the bottom of the screen) and then disappear. That’s all.

Furthermore, and more troubling, when I tried to subsequently open Synaptic Package Manager, I received an error dialog box with a message that read in part: E:dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run ‘dpkg --configure -a’ to
correct the problem. I also tried to remove Chrome manually using sudo commands and received a similar message. So I gave up, reloaded Netrunner 14, tried to reinstall Chrome (again from the Google website) with the same result.

I strongly prefer either Chromium or Chrome because of the synced history across many devices and other factors. I need to get one or the other working decently, if not well, otherwise this is a dealbreaker for me. I tried Kubuntu 14.10 before coming to Netrunner 14 and was able to successfully install and run Chrome without hassle. I may have to go back to that, though I reallly like Netrunner’s features, unless someone can help me. Any suggestions would be welcomed.

Thanks,

Dave

Normally I would recommend chromium. Are there particular pages were it crashes?
As for chrome. Have you tried doing what the dpkg message suggests?

Thanks for the reply. The page that causes the most trouble is my Google+ page. I have yet to get it loaded with Google Hangouts running successfully. This is problematic because I frequently use Google Hangouts to collaborate on projects with groups of people.