Log file for kernel panic

Hi!

I’m a linux beginner and, I have to admit, I cannot find any information where the log file for netrunner rolling is. :blush:

Since installing the OS I had three kernel panic screens while i was already logged in. Not while booting. In addition to that the pc suddenly froze and it restarted. This happened four times.

Then I updated the database with the terminal commands i found in this forum today, so no more freezing and kernel panics, but the text console screen appeared again today out of nowhere and showed me another problem.

When I had Ubuntu installed i was plagued by kernel panics even after updating the header and I thought swithching to a Manjaro based OS might help. I have an ATI Radeon onboard chip in my pc. I’ll add which series and other specifics if needed.

I there a chance hardware is involved? I tested my memory and no error was found.

I hope someone has an advise.
Thanks in advance!!

Log files are stored in /var/log .

When it comes to your particular problem it might be a hardware problem with the graphicscard.

Ah, thank you! :cool:

Half an hour ago i had a kernel panic screen while booting, then the pc froze twice while i tried to log in. So the problem still exists.

I have to admit, that I don’t know which of these files is exactly the log file. the xorg file? I added a picture of the directory to the attachment.

So, probably a problem with the onboard graphic card?
It is an ATI Radeon HD 4250 onboard chip.

Should i switch to the unofficial vesa driver? Or install another graphic card?

Again, thanks in advance!

When it really freezes and even the kernel sysmagic keys (like for example ALT+PrintScrn+R+E+I+S+U+B) are not working then I guess you won’t find anything in the logs aswell.
But you can post the /var/log/syslog (which should be there but maybe only accessible via root). You can also post the Xorg.0.log if X is crashing.