PlayOnLinux

The version of PlayOnLinux in the Repository is 4.2.2. I am having trouble installing OFFICE 2010 with it. PlayOnLinux returns the error message: Error in POL_Shortcut Binary not found: WINWORD.EXE. OFFICE instals when using PlayOnLinux Version 4.2.1. I can find the package for 4.2.1 online, but I’m behind the learning curve here because I have always worked with DEBIAN before. I love this 2014.04 release. How do I get PlayOnLinux version 4.2.1 installed on it. Be kind I am really a newbie with Manjaro/Arch :smiley:

You will have the same problem with version 4.2.1 as well, it’s a setup issue not a version one. While installing Office 2010 you need to select to install all components to the drive, otherwise you will get this error.

??? 4.2.1 worked fine in ENIGMA. 4.2.1 came with the DISTRO. First install I UPDATED the repository first and it came with 4.2.2. No problem with 4.2.1, the problem is with 4.2.2. I don’t have all of OFFICE, just WORD.

OK, bit did you tell the installer to install all to the hard drive, the default does not, otherwise you could make sure the wine bottle that has word installed had access to the cd,

Have no clue what you are talking about. There is no telling the installer to install all to the hard drive. The DVD only has WORD on it. setup.exe executed from PlayOn Linux comes up with the same error for all the other components of OFFICE 2010 which aren’t there and that’s expected. WORD is there on the DVD it just never gets installed in 4.2.2 and I don’t know why. 4.2.1 works fine but I don’t know how to install 4.2.1 to NETRUNNER 2014.04. This is my first adventure in to ARCH. I came from DEBIAN.

To be blunt you can’t, that package no longer exists in Arch Linux. The point of a rolling release is to always have the latest versions of the software we use.