sharing folders over LAN

Hello,
I am new to Arch, but on netrunner since day1,
having been acustomed to right click>Properties>Enable sharing,
I noticed that a folder is not shared like that in Rolling, although samba is installed.
Do I have to do something extra?
thank you all!

You were actually almost there, all you need to do is right click>Properties>Share>then enable “Share with Samba (Microsoft Windows)”. You should be fine with the rest of the options there, the new dialog is more windows like IMO.

Nope, that’s what I was doing. It is not working :frowning:

KDE, has the ability to browse Samba shares built in. Therefore do not need any additional packages. However, for a GUI in the KDE System Settings, install the kdenetwork-filesharing package from the official repositories.
If when navigating with Dolphin you get a “Time Out” Error, you should uncomment and edit this line in smb.conf:
name resolve order = lmhosts bcast host wins

I have not been using windows for over a decade, so it is not the lack of resemblance that troubles me.
Up till now, I used more user friendly distros, with samba preconfigured.
And I had to do nothing more than that. And as far as I remember I never had to do nothing more than what you describe.

This time though, it is not “just working”. I have kdenetwork-filesaring installed.
And it is not that I get a T/O error. I can’t share a local folder with my network.

After I enable samba there is nothing happening (like a pop up for enambling/ configuring samba shares),
and after that, if I reopen dolphin the icon indicating a folder as shared is missing, allong with the enabled option in the sharing tab.

I’m not to sure as I don’t use Samba normally, but I did this in a terminal:

su
cp /etc/samba/smb.conf.default /etc/samba/smb.conf
systemctl start smbd
systemctl start nmbd
and
systemctl enable smbd
systemctl enable nmbd
exit