[SOLVED] Installation problem

Hi all:

I really didn’t want my first post on this forum to be a problem report, but I guess that’s how it goes. I’ve been looking for a Linux distro to settle on for several months, heard and read a lot about Netrunner, so I downloaded both flavors a couple of days ago. My primary interest is in the rolling release version, so I tried that first on my test system.

It’s a Dell Inspiron with 6GB of ram, and a 500GB HD, about 150GB for Windows 8.1, and the rest for Linux, in two main partitions. The Linux partition has these partitions:

/boot: (500MB)
/: (20GB)
swap: (4GB)
/home: (the rest)

I’m by no means a Linux expert, this scheme was recommended to me by a friend as a way to rapidly install Lunix distros without messing up my Windows boot sector. I use EasyBCD to handle dual booting the system. I have installed at least 15 distros this way without incident, pointing BCD to sda3, which is the Linux boot partition. Netrunner rolling is the first distro I have tried that put grub in the Windows boot sector in spite of what I told it to do.

I always use manual set-up, and since I don’t have to make the partitions each time, merely “change” them, it goes quite quickly. I always tell the installer to put the boot in sda3. Netrunner rolling has a warning on the selector that installing the boot anyplace other than sda1 was “not recommended.” I ignored that, and proceeded. When the installation started, I got a warning message, something about formatting, but it made no sense, and had no option other than to close it. When the installation finished, I rebooted, and was greeted with grub in the Windows boot sector. Windows was an option, and when I chose it, I was presented with the EasyBCD menu.