[solved] play around with compiz setup manger ok?

Hello!

I am pretty new to Linux in general and very noob in Netrunner 15. I wonder if I can play around with compiz setup manger, since a good part of it seems to be integrated in settings. I tried a couple of things the other day and - I don’t know why - after some changes and logout, I could not login anymore. Had to install Netrunner 15 new. I would want to set up the cube to switch between virtual desktops, but no way, whatever I try :frowning:
Well, then I came around a youtube video from feb this year https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbbVtLS5VCQ and thought :idea:. But then it happened …
So, please, maybe you could enlighten me a bit and give me a couple of hints!

many thanks

Christian

PD: strange to write in English to a german speaking, since i am Austrian :cool:

Compiz is obsolete (only used by unity and will die with mir/wayland switch anyways).
You can activate the cube effect in systemsettings directly if you search for desktop effects there. KWin the window manager of Plasma 5 shows you that effect if your graphicscard supports it.

I’m not sure how old compiz is in ubuntu but Plasma 5 can be made to use compiz instead of Kwin by changing the window manager under System Settings > Applications > Default Applications > Window Manager.
[attachment=666]

Though I would not recommend to use compiz in plasma 5

Yes, I wouldn’t recommend it either, it’s very buggy to say the least but I wouldn’t want to discourage anyone from experimenting.

Personally so far, I have also tried Openbox, Fluxbox, Ratpoison, JWM and Compton.
However, I only do these things for fun and because I can, but for all intents and purposes Kwin is still the best choice for use under Plasma. :slight_smile: